Gamecock History
Coaching Records
Player Records
Team Year by Year
Against Other Opponents
Past Uniforms & Helmets
Gamecock Mascots

The South Carolina Gamecocks started playing football in 1892.  Since then the Gamecocks have posted a record of 592-569-44 through the 2016 season. 

USC has had a total of 34 coaches since the program started in 1892.  The first four Gamecock teams did not have a head coach and was made up of players who traveled on their own under now true guidance.  Since then USC has had outstanding coaches such as Paul Dietzel, Jim Carlen, Joe Morrison, Lou Holtz, and now Steve Spurrier lead them on the field.

Since 1934 South Carolina has played at Williams-Brice Stadium located next to the South Carolina State Fairgrounds.  W-B originally seated 17,600 people, but after 11 different expansions now seats 80,250.  A record crowd of 85,199 saw the Gamecocks play the Georgia Bulldogs on October 6, 2012 in a nationally televised game. 

Over the years USC has produced many great players.  21 different Gamecocks have been selected as first team All-Americans.  Three players, Steve Taneyhill, Marcus Lattimore, and Jadeveon Clowney have been named National Freshman of the Year.  In 2012 Jadeveon Clowney won the Ted Hendricks Award(given to the nation's top DE) and in 1980 George Rogers won the Heisman Trophy.  A total of 12 Gamecocks have been drafted in the NFL's first round with George Rogers going first overall to the Saints in 1981 and Jadeveon Clowney going 1st overall in 2014 to the Texans.  A total of 197 Gamecocks have been drafted over the years.

On January 1, 1946 the Gamecocks appeared in the first Gator Bowl against Wake Forest.  Since then the program has posted a 8-13 Bowl Record with its first bowl victory coming after the 1994 season in the Carquest Bowl vs West Virginia. 

South Carolina has belonged to 4 different conferences in its history.  From 1915-1921 the Gamecocks were part of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association.  In 1922 USC joined the Southern Conference and stayed in that league until 1952.  In 1953 the Gamecocks joined Clemson, Maryland, North Carolina, NC State, Duke, Wake Forest, and Virginia as the first members of the Atlantic Coast Conference.  USC would become an Independent in 1971 and stay as one until the SEC invited the Gamecocks and the Arkansas Razorbacks to start playing football in 1992. 

The Gamecocks have 1 Conference Championship(1969 ACC Champs) and 1 SEC Division Championsip(2010) to its credit.  The 1933 South Carolina Team shared the Southern Conference with Duke, but the school doesn't recognize it.

USC has finished in the top 25 nine times in school history.  The 2013 Gamecocks ended the year with the school's highest final ranking at 4th